Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Reports about issues that you encounter in Suffusion
Forum rules
1. No offensive language and no mocking
2. Please do a thorough search before you post something. Trust us, there is a high probability that the question you are asking has been asked previously.
3. No soliciting. You cannot post here soliciting bids for people offer you quotes, or even offer money to people for some work. You will be moderated if you do so. If you are looking for help, please post your request on http://jobs.wordpress.net or http://codepoet.com
4. Please be reasonable. You are getting software and support. For free. Complicated requests from a general purpose theme are not welcome and some volunteers might lose patience with you.
5. Please do your due diligence. If you posted a query and we answered with a link, take the trouble to go through the link contents.
6. Please post with complete information. Requests for help MUST be accompanied with your URL, particularly if you are asking something like "Why am I seeing a blank space?"

Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby BAAG » 16 Feb 2012, 23:00

Hi there

Just updated to 4.0 and our nav menus are no longer spaced correctly. Do all the functions below still work as they used to? I tried changing the settings but cannot get them to line up again. Any help appreciated. Site is http://www.baag.com.au

Thankyou

Code: Select all
#nav ul ul a, #nav ul ul a:visited {
    width:204px;
}

#nav ul ul ul { left: 218px; }

#nav ul li a,
#nav ul li a:visited,
#nav ul ul li a,
#nav ul ul li a:visited {
   padding: 4px 7px 3px 7px;
}

#nav ul ul {
        top: 27px;
}
BAAG
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 11 Oct 2011, 19:08

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby sayontan » 16 Feb 2012, 23:05

Change your last selector to "#nav ul .dd-tab ul"
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby BAAG » 16 Feb 2012, 23:12

Wow you are fast! :)

That has fixed the positioning of the menu from the top, but secondary menus are still appearing too far left (as are subsequent pullouts, 3 levels deep etc)
BAAG
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 11 Oct 2011, 19:08

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby sayontan » 16 Feb 2012, 23:23

Change your second selector to "#nav ul .dd-tab ul ul"
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby BAAG » 17 Feb 2012, 16:04

That didn't work unfortunately. Instead of moving the second level menus further over to suit our widened menus, it moved the first level menu over to where the second should be. Does that make sense?

I have had to remove both lines of code in order to make the website usable again, but it would be great to work out how we can get it looking like it was pre 4.0 again.
BAAG
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 11 Oct 2011, 19:08

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby sayontan » 17 Feb 2012, 16:12

Really? I tried it out on your site yesterday and it worked fine. Mind you, the selector is "#nav ul .dd-tab ul ul", not "#nav ul .dd-tab ul"
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby BAAG » 18 Feb 2012, 05:05

You are right! I hadn't noticed the two codes you specified were slightly different so I copied the first to the second.

All working again, Thanks so much sayontan.
BAAG
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 11 Oct 2011, 19:08

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby james_d » 22 Feb 2012, 02:58

Just wanted to say thanks that this solved my problem too.
james_d
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 07:37

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby katcares » 13 Aug 2012, 08:46

I have just installed 4.2.8 and I seem to be having the same problem. When I hover over Pages and my drop down appears, I can't click on the drop down item. I've looked at my "selectors"(had to go online to see what that was :)) and they seem to already have this code #nav ul .dd-tab ul ul. But there are so many nav selectors. I'm probably not looking in the right place. Hope you can help. If you have to go into my dash board I don't mind. Nothing private there yet.(or is this something we can add in custom includes)
url is dare-to-care.com. A side question...if you go to my site...you see those white side bar boxes? How can I reduce the opacity on those without changing the opacity of the words, etc. ----Thank you
katcares
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Aug 2012, 12:55

Re: Nav menu spacing broken when 4.0 update installed

Postby Colin » 13 Aug 2012, 09:41

Your second problem is the easy one in your custom CSS set the background opacity for the .suf-widget

As to your first one you have split the ul elements and so it is not allowing you to move the mouse over the sub-menu item. You have probably reducxed the height of your nav bar too much. Alter that back to default and see how you go.
Colin
 
Posts: 3762
Joined: 27 Oct 2009, 10:46

Next

Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests