Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

General questions pertaining to how certain issues can be resolved
Forum rules
1. No offensive language and no mocking
2. Please do a thorough search before you post something. Trust us, there is a high probability that the question you are asking has been asked previously.
3. No soliciting. You cannot post here soliciting bids for people offer you quotes, or even offer money to people for some work. You will be moderated if you do so. If you are looking for help, please post your request on http://jobs.wordpress.net or http://codepoet.com
4. Please be reasonable. You are getting software and support. For free. Complicated requests from a general purpose theme are not welcome and some volunteers might lose patience with you.
5. Please do your due diligence. If you posted a query and we answered with a link, take the trouble to go through the link contents.
6. Please post with complete information. Requests for help MUST be accompanied with your URL, particularly if you are asking something like "Why am I seeing a blank space?"

Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby LilisNotes » 19 Aug 2012, 09:45

Hi Sayontan,

I did a search for this, but could not find info (or missed it!). I was wondering if there is an easy way to display one category or page as Mosaic. I want to create a "Snaps" page (I think it'll have to be a category) for pictures, but want to display them as thumbnails.

I appreciate your input!

Thanks!
Liliana
www.lilisnotes.com
LilisNotes
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Aug 2012, 07:54

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby sayontan » 20 Aug 2012, 06:52

This is possible but it needs a bit of code.

You start off by creating a child theme. Then copy the file category.php from the Suffusion folder to your child theme folder. Then rename this new file category-snaps.php (replace "snaps" with whatever your category's slug is). When you open the file you will see this code:
Code: Select all
if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'list') {
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-list');
}
else if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'tiles') {
   suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-tiles');
}
else if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'mosaic') {
   //suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-mosaic');
}
else {
   suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-blog');
}

Replace it with this:
Code: Select all
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-mosaic');
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby janbletz » 22 Aug 2012, 07:17

Sounds nice. But when I try to do this (by category), I get a page with links.

I have tried to delete the category.php in the suffusion-them directory (wasn't sure if copy means: 'move' or 'copy'), but this didn't help.

URL: http://www.respons.co.nl/category/discussies/wie-zegt-wat

Jan
Attachments
categorymosaic.jpg
categorymosaic.jpg (147 KiB) Viewed 1214 times
janbletz
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 03 Jun 2011, 03:55
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby sayontan » 22 Aug 2012, 07:42

It is actually using the mosaic layout, but your posts don't seem to have associated images.
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby janbletz » 22 Aug 2012, 11:42

Ooops... :oops:
janbletz
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 03 Jun 2011, 03:55
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby janbletz » 24 Aug 2012, 08:45

I've been playing around a bit with this.

If you use get_template_part('layouts/layout-list'); (and replace mosaic by list, you can get the articles in one category presented as a list. Might come in handy!

Jan
janbletz
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 03 Jun 2011, 03:55
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby LilisNotes » 26 Aug 2012, 12:40

sayontan wrote:This is possible but it needs a bit of code.

You start off by creating a child theme. Then copy the file category.php from the Suffusion folder to your child theme folder. Then rename this new file category-snaps.php (replace "snaps" with whatever your category's slug is). When you open the file you will see this code:
Code: Select all
if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'list') {
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-list');
}
else if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'tiles') {
   suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-tiles');
}
else if ($suf_category_excerpt == 'mosaic') {
   //suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-mosaic');
}
else {
   suffusion_after_begin_content();
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-blog');
}

Replace it with this:
Code: Select all
   get_template_part('layouts/layout-mosaic');


Sayontan,

Thank you for the response - I had not checked in because we were out of town taking our dog to a clinical study for bone cancer.

Anyway. I am glad to know its possible, however, I don't know code! I'll try to play around with this on a sub-domain. This will be very helpful because we are creating a site for my husband's grandfather's paintings. We don't have a domain yet, but this is what I have so far on a domain not intended for the paintings: http://what.bondiglio.com/category/art. When the category "art" is clicked, I want to display all the paintings, then display them according to each category clicked.

Do you have designers you'd recommend?

Many thanks!
~ Liliana
LilisNotes
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Aug 2012, 07:54

Re: Displaying 1 category as Mosaics

Postby janbletz » 17 Jan 2013, 04:46

An oldie...

This is an option I'd like to use. I'd also like to add the title of each displayed post, though, not only the images. Is this possible?

Jan
janbletz
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 03 Jun 2011, 03:55
Location: Amsterdam


Return to Support Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 12 guests