(Solved) What is an ad hoc widget area?

General questions pertaining to how certain issues can be resolved
Forum rules
1. No offensive language and no mocking
2. Please do a thorough search before you post something. Trust us, there is a high probability that the question you are asking has been asked previously.
3. No soliciting. You cannot post here soliciting bids for people offer you quotes, or even offer money to people for some work. You will be moderated if you do so. If you are looking for help, please post your request on http://jobs.wordpress.net or http://codepoet.com
4. Please be reasonable. You are getting software and support. For free. Complicated requests from a general purpose theme are not welcome and some volunteers might lose patience with you.
5. Please do your due diligence. If you posted a query and we answered with a link, take the trouble to go through the link contents.
6. Please post with complete information. Requests for help MUST be accompanied with your URL, particularly if you are asking something like "Why am I seeing a blank space?"

(Solved) What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Bren » 20 Aug 2010, 07:43

I'm new to Wordpress and am just starting to use Suffusion.

I wasn't sure what an ad hoc widget was but it sounded useful so I tried to use it and failed.

Where exactly do I put this short code: "This is an ad-hoc widget area that can be invoked with the short code [suf-widgets id='1']."

I put a translator widget into ad hoc widgets 1, and tried inserting the short code into the body of a page but it didn't do anything I could see - just put the short code into the text on the page.
Last edited by Bren on 26 Aug 2010, 09:20, edited 1 time in total.
Bren
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 07:28
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby sayontan » 20 Aug 2010, 08:22

This should be entered in the HTML mode of editing a post, not the visual mode
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Bren » 20 Aug 2010, 08:44

Thank you. I just tried that but I still get the bit of code printing in the body of the post, and nothing that might be an ad hoc widget anywhere (does it pop up in the body of the post). Probably user error.

I hope I'm nearly done making idiot newbie errors.

Cheers

Bren
Bren
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 07:28
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Bren » 20 Aug 2010, 08:51

Sorry, forgot to post my url: www.communicatewithcartoons.co.uk/about/bio
Bren
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 07:28
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Dark_Fox28 » 20 Aug 2010, 11:42

Bren wrote:Thank you. I just tried that but I still get the bit of code printing in the body of the post, and nothing that might be an ad hoc widget anywhere (does it pop up in the body of the post). Probably user error.

I hope I'm nearly done making idiot newbie errors.

Cheers

Bren


I have tried this too ( for ads ) and noticed that if you don't save immediately and then try to edit a page/post again the Wordpress system adds extra code which breaks the ad hoc and stops it working. You then have to delete the extra tiny bit of code and re-save before it works.

Remember to save it in html mode.
Mal
---------------------------------------------------
http://www.darkrealmfox.com/film_reviews/
Dark_Fox28
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 26 Nov 2009, 08:40
Location: Scotland

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Bren » 23 Aug 2010, 22:56

Thank you Dark_Fox28. I just tried that but then I realised I don't know how to save a page or a post. I assumed you meant hit the update button on the publish panel. This didn't do the trick (and I was in html mode).

Is there another way of saving a page, I can't find anything else that looks like a save.

I just tried using the quick press panel onthe dashboard as that has a save button, but of course that wouldn't be in html.
Bren
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 07:28
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Dark_Fox28 » 24 Aug 2010, 05:30

Bren wrote:Thank you Dark_Fox28. I just tried that but then I realised I don't know how to save a page or a post. I assumed you meant hit the update button on the publish panel. This didn't do the trick (and I was in html mode).

Is there another way of saving a page, I can't find anything else that looks like a save.

I just tried using the quick press panel onthe dashboard as that has a save button, but of course that wouldn't be in html.


I call it save, its just the update button.

Put the code in last in html mode and then save and it should work.
Mal
---------------------------------------------------
http://www.darkrealmfox.com/film_reviews/
Dark_Fox28
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 26 Nov 2009, 08:40
Location: Scotland

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Bren » 26 Aug 2010, 07:15

No, still not working. I must be doing something fundamentally wrong. Its a pity, I'd really like to use this function.

I've just redone the whole thing to check. I did this:

- Added 3 widgets to ad hoc widget 1 (text, search, and links) on the widgets page.
- Went into my page called Bio, and added this text at the end [suf-widgets id='1'] this time I typed it in case cutting and pasting was doing something wrong.
- Made sure I entered it on the html form, not the visual one
- Immediately hit update (the turquoise button in the publish bit on the right hand side)
- Went back into my website (I keep it open in a separate browser page)
- refreshed the screen
- There in the middle is the text [suf-widgets id='1']

Am I doing anything obviously odd?
Bren
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Aug 2010, 07:28
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby sayontan » 26 Aug 2010, 07:25

The short code is suffusion-widgets, not suf-widgets.
Sayontan Sinha | http://mynethome.net/blog | http://www.aquoid.com/news
I don't do freelance work (for Suffusion or otherwise), so please don't contact me for quotes or offers.
sayontan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10168
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: What is an ad hoc widget area?

Postby Dark_Fox28 » 26 Aug 2010, 08:14

sayontan wrote:The short code is suffusion-widgets, not suf-widgets.


It says this on the widget area.

This is an ad-hoc widget area that can be invoked with the short code [suf-widgets id='1'].

Thats what i put in and it worked for me, i never tried [suffusion-widgets id='1']
Mal
---------------------------------------------------
http://www.darkrealmfox.com/film_reviews/
Dark_Fox28
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 26 Nov 2009, 08:40
Location: Scotland

Next

Return to Support Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest