Page 1 of 1

Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 10 Apr 2010, 11:35
by covermesongs
I upgraded automatically to 3.4.6 and it modified every single layout change I had ever made! From three columns to two, from blue-themed to black. Random tabs added, links removed, labels removed. This may be what it looked like at the very beginning...but help!! I've upgraded before with no problem.
Link: http://www.covermesongs.com

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 10 Apr 2010, 11:36
by sayontan

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 10 Apr 2010, 11:39
by covermesongs
Should have known you'd had it all taken care of. Thanks!

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 15 Apr 2010, 15:34
by bucks
Hi there,
So all of my blog settings were wiped out by the upgrade to 3.4.6.

The instructions provided in the link in your answer above say what to do if your previous version was 3.4.3 or lower.

Actually, in the upgrades area it says:
"DON'T CLICK the button if:

* You are trying out the theme for the first time
* Or you are upgrading from version 3.4.5 or higher

which is exactly what I was doing.

Help?

Thank you,
Buck

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 15 Apr 2010, 16:30
by sayontan
Are you sure your previous version was 3.4.5? The reason I ask is because 3.4.5 and 3.4.6 were released on subsequent days. If you upgraded from 3.4.3 to 3.4.5, your settings would definitely seem wiped then. Did you do a "migrate" at that point? If you did not do a "migrate" about 1 week back then you never upgraded to 3.4.5.

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 15 Apr 2010, 16:38
by bucks
It has been a few weeks since I last updated the theme. I guess that I figured that the last one I did was 3.4.5 but from what you are saying, maybe i missed it? Today I went to 3.4.6 and the prior update was probably 3 weeks ago. Do you still think it was not 3.4.5? Was there a 3.4.4?

Thanks
Buck

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 15 Apr 2010, 16:43
by sayontan
I am sure you missed 3.4.5. There was no 3.4.4. I tend to jump to the next multiple of 5 if the changes are big.

Go ahead and execute the Migration script - you will be okay.

Re: Upgrade to 3.4.6 wiped everything!

Posted: 15 Apr 2010, 17:08
by bucks
Dude. You rock. Seriously.

Now, for future reference...do you have a recommended backing-up/exporting strategy? Should I regularly export from both the theme and from the WP Tools?

Thank you!
Buck