"all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Reports about issues that you encounter in Suffusion. This forum is closed with effect from February 2019. Please post future requests on https://github.com/sayontan/suffusion.
Forum rules
This forum is being officially closed with effect from 3rd February 2019. Future support requests can be posted on the GitHub page at https://github.com/sayontan/suffusion/issues.
Wudman
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 20:50
Location: Web Management & Design
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by Wudman » 09 Dec 2010, 22:27

sayontan wrote:@dzuchara,
As I told you, I got it working with the code I gave you. I put in some additional code to display the title on the home page if you have no plugin AND if you have disabled the theme's SEO. Here is the code:

Code: Select all

	if ($suf_seo_enabled != 'enabled') {
		if (is_home() || is_front_page()) {
			echo "\t<title>".get_bloginfo('name')."</title>\n";
		}
		else {
			echo "\t<title>".wp_title('&raquo;', false)."</title>\n";
		}
	}
Now, here are my results:
Please clarify where we post this in actions.php to fix issue with Suffusion and AIOSEO. As with all, my blog suffers from same problem when AIOSEO is enabled properly and Suffusion SEO disabled, no title or description tags. Enabling SEO in Suffusion displays AIOSEO generated title. Thread sort of loses me though I see the first place has us change existing code. Is this code in place of old code or just added in?
Thank you.
Edit: The reason I ask is because I seem to be causing a variety of site issues no matter how I insert this code. From total inhalation to skewing content to the left. Of course now I wonder if there is any advantage to AIOSEO in Suffusion due to issues like this. The site in question is small, so moving SEO data into Suffusion is always option as others have done. Hate to have to fix code and trash site because WordPress or plugin updates.
Edit: Deeper in the do-do
So I figured I would scale back to Suffusion SEO but that is dysfunctional. Only one page would update title and that wasn't home page. Then remembered the reason I use AIOSEO is because of ease of adding page title META.

dzuchara
Posts: 29
Joined: 31 Dec 2009, 14:43
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by dzuchara » 14 Dec 2010, 06:55

2 Wudman

as sayontan wrote
Open the file actions.php and look for the method suffusion_set_title. You will see this line:
if ($suf_seo_enabled != 'enabled') return;

dzuchara
Posts: 29
Joined: 31 Dec 2009, 14:43
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by dzuchara » 14 Dec 2010, 07:04

2 sayontan

When I change from your theme to default theme - the title comes from seo plugin(!) no matter if it is disabled or not... I can't understand what is happening... :shock:

sayontan
Site Admin
Posts: 10210
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by sayontan » 14 Dec 2010, 10:48

When I change from your theme to default theme - the title comes from seo plugin(!) no matter if it is disabled or not
:lol: So it is not all my fault, after all!
Do you have a caching plugin?

dzuchara
Posts: 29
Joined: 31 Dec 2009, 14:43
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by dzuchara » 15 Dec 2010, 08:09

2 sayontan

no...

Radu
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Oct 2009, 15:04
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by Radu » 19 Dec 2010, 12:16

For some reason with the new update (3.7.2 ) you get 2 Title lines on the page – SEO for Suffusion disable and All in One SEO active. I thought that I’m the only one, but I’ve noticed that this site has the same problem – see source code
http://viajarsinprisa.net/viajar-sin-pr ... -asturias/

I had to remove a line code from the actions.php file
else {
echo "\t<title>".wp_title('&raquo;', false)."</title>\n";
}

Now seems to be OK. Anybody else having the same problem? :?:

sayontan
Site Admin
Posts: 10210
Joined: 15 Sep 2009, 16:39
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by sayontan » 19 Dec 2010, 13:17

I seem to be going around in circles for this one. Try adding a return at the end of that block:

Code: Select all

	if ($suf_seo_enabled != 'enabled') {
		if (is_home() || is_front_page()) {
			echo "\t<title>".get_bloginfo('name')."</title>\n";
		}
		else {
			echo "\t<title>".wp_title('&raquo;', false)."</title>\n";
		}
		return;
	}

Radu
Posts: 32
Joined: 22 Oct 2009, 15:04
Contact:

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by Radu » 19 Dec 2010, 15:14

Hi Sayontan,

Thank you for your fast response!

The provided code fixed the problem with “2 Title lines” in the source code – now it shows only one line
For some reason the title is displayed with ‘&raquo’ in front, without the Blog Title..(you can see on my site)
Settings in All in One SEO are:

%post_title% | %blog_title%

SEO for Suffusion is disable.

Regards,

Radu

Pilar
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Dec 2010, 09:51

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by Pilar » 20 Dec 2010, 10:05

I have the same problem on all my sites, two lines of title page, version 3.7.2 and 3.7.3
Please where I have to put the code in the file actions.php?

I do not speak English, use a translator

http://redblogs.org/ (3.7.2)
http://muchachadesal.com/ (3.7.2)
http://xanarts.com/ (3.7.2)

http://viajarsinprisa.net/ (3.7.3)

Gracias
Pilar

Pilar
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Dec 2010, 09:51

Re: "all in one SEO" plugin title & description issue

Post by Pilar » 22 Dec 2010, 20:56

:?:

Locked