Flickr Authentication

 

Photonic provides access to protected photos that you have decided to share amongst friends and family. The base of this is Authentication. To enable Flickr Authentication, go to Settings → Photonic → Flickr → Flickr Settings → Private Photos, and enable private photos. You can then configure the text to be shown in the box and the button.

Note:

  1. To enable authentication you must define a Flickr API Key and a Secret. You can obtain an API Key and a Secret from Flickr directly.
  2. Authentication requires that folks visiting your site have cookies enabled in their browser, or it will not work.

The first time a user tries to access protected content on Flickr, he is presented with an authentication box similar to this:

Flickr Authentication

Flickr Authentication

When the user clicks on “Login”, he is taken to a page on Flickr where he is asked to authorize the application. After authentication the user is redirected back to your site and can see whatever they are authorized to see. The authentication is a one-time process, and until a user revokes the permissions from his Flickr console or deletes his browser cookies, he can access the protected photos.

Below is a photo for which I have restricted access. Flickr offers 5 levels of protection:

  • 1 – Public photos
  • 2 – Private photos visible to friends
  • 3 – Private photos visible to family
  • 4 – Private photos visible to friends and family
  • 5 – Completely private photos

You can set the desired privacy level using the privacy_filter parameter, which can be given a value from 1 to 5, as above. The following short-code will show me my photos with a privacy level of 4:

 [gallery type='flickr' user_id='35553131@N07' view='photos' privacy_filter='4']

The following is a result of the shortcode invocation. I have run 6 different calls, one with no privacy filter, then with 5 different privacy filters. Note that even if you authenticate, you will not be able to see the protected photos if you are not in my Flickr friends’ circle.

These are all my photos, visible if you are authenticated into the system as me.

  • Should I approach or should I not?

These are my public photos (level 1):

  • Should I approach or should I not?

(If you are not authorized to view my private photos, what you see above is what you see in the previous case)

These are my photos shared amongst friends (level 2):

  • Should I approach or should I not?

(If you see no photos above it is because you are not in my Friends group on Flickr.)

These are my photos shared amongst family members (level 3):

  • Should I approach or should I not?

(If you see no photos above it is because you are not in my Family group on Flickr.)

These are my photos shared amongst friends and family (level 4):

  • Should I approach or should I not?

(If you see no photos above it is because you are not in my Friends and Family on Flickr.)

These are my completely private photos (level 5):

  • Should I approach or should I not?

(If you see no photos above it is because you are not signed in as me.)