Photonic provides access to protected photos that you have decided to share amongst friends and family. The base of this is Authentication. To enable Flickr Authentication, go to Settings → Photonic → Flickr → Flickr Settings → Private Photos, and enable private photos. You can then configure the text to be shown in the box and the button.
- To enable authentication you must define a Flickr API Key and a Secret. You can obtain an API Key and a Secret from Flickr directly.
- Authentication requires that folks visiting your site have cookies enabled in their browser, or it will not work.
The first time a user tries to access protected content on Flickr, he is presented with an authentication box similar to this:
When the user clicks on “Login”, he is taken to a page on Flickr where he is asked to authorize the application. After authentication the user is redirected back to your site and can see whatever they are authorized to see. The authentication is a one-time process, and until a user revokes the permissions from his Flickr console or deletes his browser cookies, he can access the protected photos. Unauthenticated users will only see public photos.
Flickr offers 5 levels of protection:
- 1 – Public photos
- 2 – Private photos visible to friends
- 3 – Private photos visible to family
- 4 – Private photos visible to friends and family
- 5 – Completely private photos
You can set the desired privacy level using the
privacy_filter parameter, which can be given a value from 1 to 5, as above. The following short-code will show me my photos with a privacy level of 4:
[gallery type='flickr' user_id='35553131@N07' view='photos' privacy_filter='4']
Unfortunately Flickr’s method of returning private photos is not progressive, in the sense that a privacy filter of 4 doesn’t get you photos of levels 1, 2 and 3; it only gets you level 4 photos.
The following is a result of the shortcode invocation. I have run 6 different calls, one with no privacy filter, then with 5 different privacy filters. Note that even if you authenticate, you will not be able to see the protected photos if you are not in my Flickr friends’ circle. The album San Diego has 4 photos, but only 1 is public.
These are all my photos, visible if you are authenticated into the system as me. If you were authenticated as me, you would have seen 5 photos.
These are my public photos from the San Diego album(level 1):
(If you are not authorized to view my private photos, what you see above is what you see in the previous case, i.e. the photo titled “Should I approach or should I not?”)
These are my photos shared amongst friends (level 2):
(If you don’t see a photo titled “Petting” above it is because you are not in my Friends group on Flickr.)
These are my photos shared amongst family members (level 3):
(If you don’t see a photo titled “Getting close” above it is because you are not in my Family group on Flickr.)
These are my photos shared amongst friends and family (level 4):
(If you don’t see a photo titled “Snooze” above it is because you are not in my Friends and Family on Flickr.)
These are my completely private photos (level 5):
(If you don’t see a photo titled “Lazy Loungers” above it is because you are not signed in as me.)